Thread: recommended fuel additives?

Sport Button On

recommended fuel additives?

This is an occasional use car for me. I expect to do 1000-2000 miles per year. Does anyone have any recommendations on fuel additives to counteract the generally poor ethanol mixed fuel currently available? I use marine grade Stabil in my antique alfa romeos which does a great job in preventing varnish deposition and water adsorption. Any pros or cons for use in a z8?

thanks

I have no knowledge of these additives or their pros and cons, but I'd love to hear more about your Alfas!
    Andrew Macpherson

Expert Z8 Inspections, with full support for both Z8 sale and purchases.

Z8Mania
    Ive been advised to use Stabil as well but I havent really done much with it. I'm curious to hear other people's experiences.

Beyond the Valley of Z8 Madness Z-acht's Avatar
    Imo you don't need additives: it is a modern car which only needs special motor oil
    Ton
    1 of the 71 original Dutch sold cars (jetblack/red)

Sport Button On
    Quote Originally Posted by macfly View Post
    I have no knowledge of these additives or their pros and cons, but I'd love to hear more about your Alfas!
    I have been playing with them for 25 years. I currently have a 65 giulia spider veloce ( one of 1000), a 69 duetto boat tail spider, and two 66 bertone step nose coupes, one of which has a 2 l with spica injection

Sport Button On

Wink fuel additives

Quote Originally Posted by Z-acht View Post
    Imo you don't need additives: it is a modern car which only needs special motor oil

its not the modes car which needs the additives, its the crappy modern fuel which turns to paint varnish if you let it sit in the tank long enough.

Beyond the Valley of Z8 Madness Z-acht's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by mhunger View Post
    its not the modes car which needs the additives, its the crappy modern fuel which turns to paint varnish if you let it sit in the tank long enough.